ServSafe® California Food Handler Training

A CA Food Handler Card is required by law.

Employees who handle food must have a California Food Handler card on file with their employer within 30 days of hire. To obtain a card, you must complete the training and pass the exam with a 75 percent or higher. This training and test meets the requirements of California’s food safety law SB 602. You can complete the training online or in a classroom-style setting.

 


 

Online Training

The ServSafe® California Food Handler program includes an interactive course and a 40-question exam. It’s $15 and approximately 90 minutes. Offered in English or Spanish. Food handlers will have to complete a registration process in English to access the course.

For San Diego residents, the program is $18.

Take the online training - California

Take the online training - San Diego Only

 


 

Key Themes Covered

apple icon  Basic Food Safety

clock icon  Time + Temperature

cleaning icon  Cleaning + Sanitation

warning icon  Cross-Contamination

personal hygiene icon  Personal Hygiene

 


 

Private Training* 

A certified instructor will come to your establishment with all the necessary equipment and training materials. The instructor will lead a 90-minute training followed by a 90-minute written exam. Contact Macy Fitch at 916.4312751 or mfitch@calrest.org.

*Private training is for CA Food Handler Card only; excludes San Diego, Riverside, and San Bernardino counties.

 

Materials needed for this Training:

  • Scantron Answer Sheet $11 per registrant
  • Food Handler Workbook (suggested) $16 per registrant 

 

Pricing: 

Single Private Training
CRA Member Price
Non-Member Price
Maximum 100 employees
$700

$950

Two Same-Day Private Trainings*

50 employees

Additional employees after 50

*Max of 100 employees per session.
(200 per day)

$380

$5.70/person


 

$522.50

$7.60/person


 

Three Same-Day Private Trainings*

50 employees

Additional employees after 50

*Max of 100 employees per session.
(200 per day)

$360

$5.40/person


 

$495

$7.20/person


 

Course Details